Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS)

Rainbow Valley Nursery follows the Early Years Foundation Stage ( EYFS) Framework and explains how and what your child will be learning to support their healthy development from 3 months to 5 years old.

Your child will be learning skills, acquiring new knowledge and demonstrating their understanding through 7 areas of learning and development.

These 7 areas are used to plan your child’s learning and activities. The professionals teaching and supporting your child will make sure that the activities are suited to your child’s unique needs. This is a little bit like a curriculum in primary and secondary schools, but it’s suitable for very young children, and it’s designed to be really flexible so that staff can follow your child’s unique needs and interests.

Children following the EYFS curriculum, learn by playing and exploring, being active, and through creative and critical thinking which takes place both indoors and outside.

  • Listening and Attention.
  • Understanding.
  • Speaking.
  • Moving and Handling.
  • Health and Self-care.

  • Making Relationships
  • Self-confidence and Self-awareness.
  • Speaking.
  • As children grow, the prime areas will help them to develop skills in 4 specific areas.
  • Reading.
  • Writing.
  • Numbers.
  • Shapes, Space and Measures.

  • People and Communities.
  • The World.
  • Technology.
  • Exploring and using Materials and Media.
  • Being Imaginative.
  • Age Group

    Our Classes

    four +


    The Sunshiner’s Class provides a warm, welcoming environment where your..
    three +


    Our Growing Moonwalker’s Class provides your toddler with hands-on exploration..
    two +


    The curious and vibrant cloudrider programme is filled with investigation..
    sta +


    Our ’ READY for SCHOOL’ programme helps children advance skills in phonics..


    Interested in good preschool education for your child? Our kindergarten is the right decision!